SENIOR MANAGEMENT TEAM

Daryl Gibbs - Principal

"I am honoured to have been selected by the Cambridge Middle School Board of Trustees to serve and lead the learning for the Cambridge Middle School community.  My responsibility as the Principal is to ensure that your child continues to receive a high quality education within a safe, respectful and supportive environment. I believe the emerging adolescent is a very special and unique age group to teach. It takes a special balance of teaching knowledge, relationship building, caring and humour to be successful with middle school children. Children of this age are developing self-identity, opinions and an understanding of the world around them, and it takes people with a specific skill set and understanding to nurture them. I have a strong passion and commitment to developing programmes that support the academic, sporting, social and cultural development of our students. I look forward to working in partnership with you and your children."
Email: daryl@cms.school.nz

Julie Dawick - Deputy Principal

"I am one of the Deputy Principals for Cambridge Middle School. I thoroughly enjoy my role and the responsibilities I have at CMS. As one of the Deputy Principal's I currently run the Health and Safety portfolio, EOTC and oversee attendance within Cambridge Middle School. All Senior Management deal with the pastoral care, behaviour management and welfare of our CMS students. I thoroughly enjoy working at Cambridge Middle School and am privileged to work with such an exciting and innovative team, dealing with an enthusiastic and diverse range of students and having such a supportive parent base and community."
Email: julie@cms.school.nz

Tagget Christophersen - Deputy Principal

Text to come

Bridget Watkins - Acting Deputy Principal

"I am the Acting Deputy Principal at Cambridge Middle School. My main responsibilities are student achievement, curriculum, and data analysis. I am also very involved in student welfare, and the teaching and learning programmes here at Cambridge Middle School. I am honoured to work alongside a wide range of students, and a great staff at a school where the focus is on nurturing adolescents and supporting them to achieve success."
Email: bridget@cms.school.nz

Alistair Martin - Assistant Principal

"I am one of the two Assistant Principals at Cambridge Middle School. As a classroom based Assistant Principal and Team Leader I have responsibilities relating to curriculum and curriculum review along with being involved in pastoral care and guidance. I work with a vibrant management team and staff who create amazing learning opportunities for our emerging adolescents."
Email: alistair@cms.school.nz

Gareth Gilmour - Acting Assistant Principal

"I am the Acting Assistant Principal and Team Leader of Manaia at Cambridge Middle School. I lead e-Learning across the school and this is a very exciting part of my role here at CMS. I teach in a team-teaching space utilising digital tools and current learning pedagogy to enhance the learning of the students in my care. "
Email: gareth.g@cms.school.nz

CMS TEACHERS

Alistair Martin - Assistant Principal

Room 1, Year 7
E: alistair@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Trisha Honey

Room 5, Year 8, 9, 10
E: trisha@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Gareth Gilmour

Room 1, Year 7
E: gareth.g@cms.school.nz

Benjamin Heaton

Room 2, Year 7
E: benjamin@cms.school.nz

Katie Verhoeven

Room 3, Year 7
E: katie2@cms.school.nz

Robyn Wilson

Room 6, Year 8
E: robyn2@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Shelley Kennerley

Room 7, Year 7
E: shelley@cms.school.nz

Jacira de Hoog

Room 8, Year 8
E: jacira@cms.school.nz

Ian Harrison

Room 9, Year 7
E: ian@cms.school.nz

Claire Bush

Room 4, Year 8
E: claire@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Rebecca Silcock

Room 10, Year 8
E: rebecca@cms.school.nz

Ashleigh Frey

Room 11, Year 8
E: ashleigh@cms.school.nz

Margot Horner

Room 21, Year 7
E: margot@cms.school.nz

Arnia Rameka

Room 15, Year 7
E: arnia@cms.school.nz

Team Leader

Deirdre Finn

Room 15, Year 7
E: deirdre@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Gareth Cogan

Room 16, Year 7
E: gareth@cms.school.nz

Belle Paterson

Room 13, Year 8
E: belle@cms.school.nz

Maraea Thomson

Room 12, Year 7
E: maraea@cms.school.nz

Mike Johnson

Room 14, Year 8
E: mike@cms.school.nz

Theresa Valvoi

Room 19, Year 7
E: theresa@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Leanne Haddock

Room 20, Year 7
E: leanne@cms.school.nz

Shannon Kingsland

Room 17, Year 8
E: shannon@cms.school.nz

Danielle Fuller

Room 18, Year 8
E: danielle@cms.school.nz

Katie Van Dyk

Room 20, Year 7
E: katie@cms.school.nz

SPECIALIST TEAM

Robyn Gibbeson

Food Technology
E: robyn@cms.school.nz

Catherine Bell

Suzy Reid

Visual Art
E: suzy@cms.school.nz
HOD

Anna Johnson

Music
E: anna@cms.school.nz    


Taryn Power

ACE Specialist Teacher
E: taryn@cms.school.nz

Tracey Andrews

Performing Arts
E: tracey@cms.school.nz
Team Leader Performing Arts

Jo Wright

Mel Coles

Digi Tech

E: mel@cms.school.nz    

OFFICE

LIBRARIAN

CARETAKER

Karyn Powell

Angela Welten

Finance Officer
E: angela@cms.school.nz

Cherry Webber

Colin Hatton

CLEANER

Colin Pruden

Cleaner


LEARNING SUPPORT STAFF

Toni Paton

Arleen Bridge

Christine O'Connor

Rebecca Jenkins

Behaviour Support
E: rebecca.j@cms.school.nz

Nichola McMahon

Lorraine Shaw

Delwyn Hawkings

Linnet Hatton

DENTAL THERAPISTS

Leanne Methven

Vicki Mayo

Sarah Bennett

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Bob White - BOT Chairperson

Kia ora, My name is Bob White and I moved to Cambridge at the beginning of 2015 from Melbourne, Australia with my Kiwi wife who spent her childhood here in the Waikato. I have been involved in education for the past 40 odd years and I am now semi-retired working in consultancy work for education and business both here in NZ and Australia.
I have been a Principal of 5 large schools in 3 different states of Australia for a period of 25 years. These schools have been both single sex and co-educational and ranging from Year 1 through to matriculation. I was also a Supervisor of Schools in a Regional Educational precinct supporting primary, middle and secondary schools.
I have been involved in a variety of Boards of Management associated with different educational endeavours and thus I am keen to provide support to Cambridge Middle School.
My most recent position was on the Executive of an organisation which had the responsibility for the management of 50 schools across all states and territories throughout Australia. My role included the development of Strategic Planning, Formation of Senior staff especially Principals and Deputy Principals, Policy development and School Board support.
Students are central to any school and all consequent programs, organisation and structures need to have their development and interests at the centre. I have been privileged to work with some extraordinary young people over the years who will indeed make this world a better place.

Carol-Lynn Hill

Kia Ora. I have been on the CMS BOT since Sept 2015.
I am a Primary School teacher and have been teaching for nearly 20 years. I am passionate about education and I am excited to be involved with Cambridge Middle School. My passions within education are eLearning and effective and meaningful assessment practices. After 20 years in the classroom I can honestly say that I still love my job!
I am married to Nik, who is also a Primary School teacher and we have two beautiful daughters who are at High School. In my spare time, I like to take on large landscaping projects like an in-ground pool and outdoor kitchen area. A few years ago we built a house on a lifestyle block just out of town and this keeps me very busy during the school holidays. I love living in Cambridge and feel that education in this town in a great place and our children are very fortunate.
If you need to make contact with me, please email hillseymour@gmail.com 

Jo Henson

Kia ora koutou. I have two sons Thomas (11) and Nathaniel (13) with my husband Mike and our whanau have lived in Cambridge for five years, having moved here from Libya where we taught in an International School. As a whanau, our interests include sports, recreational activities, Te Reo Maori and travelling.
I am a Business Consultant specialising in Continuous Quality Improvement, Project Management, Workshop Facilitation and Strategic Deployment. I am also a trustee for the Waikato Family Centre Trust.
Prior to my current role, I have had a successful career (20 years) as a History teacher in both private and public secondary schools here in NZ and abroad. I was co-opted to the Board late last year and I am committed to working with the rest of the Board and the school's management to ensure that academic standards are being constantly enhanced, and that CMS offers every student the opportunity to perform to the best of their abilities.
I am interested in all facets of school life but in particular: communication from board level to staff through wider community, effective governance, cultural awareness and a strong interest in programmes and intiatives that grow confidence in learners to reach their potential.

Dylan Newbold

I’m in my first term as a trustee on the CMS board and am really enjoying getting underneath what we do as a school to provide both life experiences and learning opportunities for our students, including my son who is a year 7 at the school. Having spent some time on primary school boards, I have some background understanding of how a school works, but the difference between primary school children and our learners is a large one as parents / whanau of the school will know! During the week I work for Kiwibank as Area Manager for the local business bank and in my spare time I love to enjoy the outdoors in any way I can. I'm a keen tramper, do a bit of diving and love to get stuck in to the garden.
My priorities as a member of any school board are relatively straightforward, I believe the board is there to assist the school in accelerating student achievement and in providing learning experiences at all levels and so when we make decisions I always am keen to know how they drive better outcomes for our kids. Our staff do a great job here and it’s great to be part of the wider team.

Shelley Kennerley

Kia Ora, My name is Shelley Kennerley and I am the Staff Representative on the Board of Trustees. I am in my 4th year teaching at Cambridge Middle School and am passionate about teaching this age group. I have 3 children, two who have been through Cambridge Middle School and one to come. Prior to teaching I worked in the finance industry both in accountancy and banking, and was involved in Playcentre locally as President for a number of years, and as a tutor for the NZ Playcentre Diploma. I have always been passionate about education and am looking forward to being involved with the Board of Trustees of our fantastic school.

Rebecca David

I am excited about the opportunity to join the Cambridge Middle School Board of Trustees. I grew up in Cambridge and I am an ex student of CMS.  I am married to Charlie and we have two daughters, one in Year 7 at CMS and one in Year 5 at Cambridge East. For just over 16 years I have worked at Fonterra in various senior HR and Project Management roles with particular emphasis on Capability and Change Management. I am passionate about working with people to help unlock their potential, and I look forward to sharing my skills and experience with the BOT.  

PTA

The PTA is a pivotal, voluntary organisation formed essentially to fundraise for important equipment to assist with learning and teaching. Projects are approved by our BOT and our dedicated PTA work brilliantly to make things happen. Their motto is 'no willing person is ever turned away.'

This association holds its A.G.M. in April. The election of officers plus committee
members usually number 3-10 personnel - no willing person is ever turned away.
Two or three staff members are given the responsibility of representing their colleagues at executive meetings.

WHANAU

Maori enjoying and achieving education success as Maori
(2013 Ministry of Education, Ka Hikitia Accelerating Success)

How we bring to life this vision at Cambridge Middle School

To meet with our Cambridge Middle School whanau one to two times a term to discuss:
Ways to engage our Maori students in learning at school;
Ways to engage whanau, hapu and iwi positively in their Maori student's learning,
both inside and outside the classroom;
Ways to enhance our local curriculum to reflect the Maori identity, language and culture in each are.

Waiho I te toipoto, kaua I te toiroa
Let us keep close together, not wide apart

Kia mau ki to Maoritanga
Hold fast to your culture.

 

This product has been added to your cart

CHECKOUT