SENIOR STAFF

Ross Tyson - Principal

Ross has been the Principal of Cambridge Middle School since 2000.

" I have had the pleasure of meeting thousands of students and watched with interest as they have made their way in life. Many families have moved through the Middle School and I am pleased that we have been able to offer so many additional and exciting opportunities for them.
We see this age group as a time for our students to explore their own abilities and to accept challenges within a caring environment. We provide the resources and encouragement – they accept the challenges and fly.
Cambridge Middle School welcomes your enquiries and invites you to visit and see for yourself, the wonderful opportunities at our school."
Email: ross@cms.school.nz

Julie Dawick - Deputy Principal

"I am one of the Deputy Principals for Cambridge Middle School. I thoroughly enjoy my role and the responsibilities I have at CMS. As one of the Deputy Principal's I currently run the Health and Safety portfolio, EOTC and oversee attendance within Cambridge Middle School. All Senior Management deal with the pastoral care, behaviour management and welfare of our CMS students. I thoroughly enjoy working at Cambridge Middle School and am privileged to work with such an exciting and innovative team, dealing with an enthusiastic and diverse range of students and having such a supportive parent base and community".


Bridget Watkins - Acting Deputy Principal

"I am the Acting Deputy Principal at Cambridge Middle School. My main responsibilities are student achievement, curriculum, and data analysis. I am also very involved in student welfare, and the teaching and learning programmes here at Cambridge Middle School. I am honoured to work alongside a wide range of students, and a great staff at a school where the focus is on nurturing adolescents and supporting them to achieve success."
Email: bridget@cms.school.nz

Alistair Martin - Assistant Principal

"I am one of the two Assistant Principals at Cambridge Middle School. As a classroom based Assistant Principal and Team Leader I have responsibilities relating to curriculum and curriculum review along with being involved in pastoral care and guidance. I work with a vibrant management team and staff who create amazing learning opportunities for our emerging adolescents."
Email: alistair@cms.school.nz

Gareth Gilmour - Acting Assistant Principal

"I am the Acting Assistant Principal and Team Leader of Manaia at Cambridge Middle School. I lead e-Learning across the school and this is a very exciting part of my role here at CMS. I teach in a team-teaching space utilising digital tools and current learning pedagogy to enhance the learning of the students in my care. "
Email: gareth.g@cms.school.nz

CMS TEACHERS

Arnia Rameka

Room 1, Year 8
E: arnia@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Deirdre Finn

Room 1, Year 8
E: deirdre@cms.school.nz Team Leader


Margot Horner

Room 2, Year 7

E: margot@cms.school.nz

Gareth Cogan

Room 3, Year 8
E: gareth@cms.school.nz

Leanne Haddock

Room 4, Year 8
E: leanne@cms.school.nz

Vicky Gleeson

Room 4, Year 8
E: vicky@cms.school.nz

Shannon Kingsland

Room 15, Year 7
E: shannon@cms.school.nz

Danielle Fuller

Room 16, Year 7
E: danielle@cms.school.nz

Rebecca Silcock

Room 17, Year 8
E: rebecca@cms.school.nz

Erin Stewart

Room 17, Year 8
E. erin@cms.school.nz

Gareth Gilmour

Room 18, Year 8
E: gareth.g@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Alistair Martin - Assistant Principal

Room 10, Year 7
E: alistair@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Ashleigh Frey

Room 11, Year 7
E: ashleigh@cms.school.nz

Haidee Pennington

Room 12, Year 7
E: haidee@cms.school.nz

Anna Johnson

Room 13, Year 8
E: anna@cms.school.nz

Katie Verhoeven

Room 6, Year 7
E: katie2@cms.school.nz

Theresa Valvoi

Room 7, Year 8
E: theresa@cms.school.nz

Trisha Honey

Room 8, Year 8
E: trisha@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Mike Johnson

Room 9, Year 7
E: mike@cms.school.nz

Belle Paterson

Room 5, Year 8
E: belle@cms.school.nz
Team Leader

Shelley Kennerley

Room 14, Year 7
E: shelley@cms.school.nz

Anita Hawkins

Room 14, Year 7
E: anita@cms.school.nz

Claire Bush

Room 20, Year 7
E: claire@cms.school.nz

Ben Heaton

Room 19
E: ben@cms.school.nz

SPECIALIST TEAM

Robyn Gibbeson

Food Technology

Catherine Bell

Creative Textiles
E: catherine@cms.school.nz

Suzy Reid

Visual Art
E: suzy@cms.school.nz
HOD

Tami Lee Ward

Music

E: tamilee@cms.school.nz
HOD
Team Leader

Tracey Andrews

Jo Wright

Gary Bennett

Taryn Power

Specialist Education 
E: taryn@cms.school.nz

OFFICE

LIBRARIAN

CARETAKER

Karyn Powell

School Secretary
E: karyn@cms.school.nz
E: office@cms.school.nz

Angela Welten

Finance Officer
E: angela@cms.school.nz

Cherry Webber

Librarian

E: cherry@cms.school.nz

Gordon Baker

Caretaker

LEARNING SUPPORT STAFF

Irene Fitz-John

Learning Centre Leader
E: irene@cms.school.nz

Nichola McMahon

Marlene Mepham

Christine O'Connor

Toni Paton

Arleen Bridge

Lorraine Shaw

Rebecca Jenkins

Sarah Hill

Delwyn Hawkings

Linnet Hatton

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Ross Tyson - School Principal

Ross has been the Principal of Cambridge Middle School since 2000.
"I have had the pleasure of meeting thousands of students and watched with interest as they have made their way in life. Many families have moved through the Middle School and I am pleased that we have been able to offer so many additional and exciting opportunities for them."

Carol-Lynn Hill - BOT Chairperson

Kia Ora. I have been on the CMS BOT since Sept 2015.
I am a Primary School teacher at Cambridge Primary School and have been teaching for nearly 20 years. I am passionate about education and I am excited to be involved with Cambridge Middle School. My passions within education are eLearning and effective and meaningful assessment practices. After 20 years in the classroom I can honestly say that I still love my job!
I am married to Nik, who is also a Primary School teacher and we have two beautiful daughters who are at High School. In my spare time, I like to take on large landscaping projects like an in-ground pool and outdoor kitchen area. A few years ago we built a house on a lifestyle block just out of town and this keeps me very busy during the school holidays. I love living in Cambridge and feel that Education in this town in a great place and our children are very fortunate.
If you need to make contact with me, please email hillseymour@gmail.com 

David Oldershaw

I have lived in Cambridge for five years with my wife Rachel and our three daughters. Two of our girls have been through Cambridge Middle School and the third is at school now. They have all made the most out of many great opportunities at this school. I work as a General Manager for Pinnacle-Midlands Health Network in Hamilton, overseeing corporate and commercial functions. I have been on the Board of Trustees since 2013 including a spell as Chair from 2014-2016. During this time it has been a real pleasure to work alongside our dedicated staff and my fellow board members. Highlights in my time so far include working through a successful ERO review in 2015. There are many fantastic things happening at CMS and as a board we want to make sure that the voice of our school community is heard in governance so that together we can continue to enhance the performance of our school.

Jo Henson

Kia ora koutou. I have two sons Thomas (11) and Nathaniel (13) with my husband Mike and our whanau have lived in Cambridge for five years, having moved here from Libya where we taught in and International School. As a whanau, our interests include sports, recreational activities, Te Reo Maori and travelling.
I am a Business Consultant specialising in Continuous Quality Improvement, Project Management, Workshop Facilitation and Strategic Deployment. I am also a trustee for the Waikato Family Centre Trust.
Prior to my current role, I have had a successful career (20 years) as a History teacher in both private and public secondary schools here in NZ and abroad. I was co-opted to the Board late last year and I am committed to working with the rest of the Board and the school's management to ensure that academic standards are being constantly enhanced, and that CMS offers every student the opportunity to perform to the best of their abilities.
I am interested in all facets of school life but in particular: communication from board level to staff through wider community, effective governance, cultural awareness and a strong interest in programmes and intiatives that grow confidence in learners to reach their potential.

Dylan Newbold

I’m in my first term as a trustee on the CMS board and am really enjoying getting underneath what we do as a school to provide both life experiences and learning opportunities for our students, including my son who is a year 7 at the school. Having spent some time on primary school boards, I have some background understanding of how a school works, but the difference between primary school children and our learners is a large one as parents / whanau of the school will know! During the week I work for Kiwibank as Area Manager for the local business bank and in my spare time I love to enjoy the outdoors in any way I can. I'm a keen tramper, do a bit of diving and love to get stuck in to the garden.
My priorities as a member of any school board are relatively straightforward, I believe the board is there to assist the school in accelerating student achievement and in providing learning experiences at all levels and so when we make decisions I always am keen to know how they drive better outcomes for our kids. Our staff do a great job here and it’s great to be part of the wider team.

Bob White

Kia ora, My name is Bob White and I moved to Cambridge at the beginning of 2015 from Melbourne Australia with my Kiwi wife who spent her childhood here in the Waikato. I have been involved in education for the past 40 odd years and I am now semi-retired working in consultancy work for education and business both here in NZ and Australia.
I have been a Principal of 5 large schools in 3 different states of Australia for a period of 25 years. These schools have been both single sex and co-educational and ranging from Year 1 through to matriculation. I was also a Supervisor of Schools in a Regional Educational precinct supporting primary, middle and secondary schools.
I have been involved in a variety of Boards of Management associated with different educational endeavours and thus I am keen to provide support to Cambridge Middle School.
My most recent position was on the Executive of an organisation which had the responsibility for the management of 50 schools across all states and territories throughout Australia. My role included the development of Strategic Planning, Formation of Senior staff especially Principals and Deputy Principals, Policy development and School Board support.
Students are central to any school and all consequent programs, organisation and structures need to have their development and interests at the centre. I have been privileged to work with some extraordinary young people over the years who will indeed make this world a better place

Shelley Kennerley

Kia Ora, My name is Shelley Kennerley and I am the Staff Representative on the Board of Trustees. I am in my 4th year teaching at Cambridge Middle School and am passionate about teaching this age group. I have 3 children, 1 of whom currently attends Cambridge Middle School. Prior to teaching I worked in the finance industry both in accountancy and banking, and was involved in Playcentre locally as President for a number of years, and as a tutor for the NZ Playcentre Diploma. I have always been passionate about education and am looking forward to being involved with the Board of Trustees of our fantastic school.

PTA

The PTA is a pivotal, voluntary organisation formed essentially to fundraise for important equipment to assist with learning and teaching. Projects are approved by our BOT and our dedicated PTA work brilliantly to make things happen. Their motto is 'no willing person is ever turned away.'

This association holds its A.G.M. in April. The election of officers plus committee
members usually number 3-10 personnel - no willing person is ever turned away.
Two or three staff members are given the responsibility of representing their colleagues at executive meetings.

WHANAU

Maori enjoying and achieving education success as Maori
(2013 Ministry of Education, Ka Hikitia Accelerating Success)

How we bring to life this vision at Cambridge Middle School

To meet with our Cambridge Middle School whanau one to two times a term to discuss:
Ways to engage our Maori students in learning at school;
Ways to engage whanau, hapu and iwi positively in their Maori student's learning,
both inside and outside the classroom;
Ways to enhance our local curriculum to reflect the Maori identity, language and culture in each are.

Waiho I te toipoto, kaua I te toiroa
Let us keep close together, not wide apart

Kia mau ki to Maoritanga
Hold fast to your culture.